SQL Server Notification Services Question:
Download Questions PDF

What are the lock types?


SQL server supports following locks

Shared lock
Update lock
Exclusive lock

Shared lock
Shared Lock allows simultaneous access of record by multiple Select statements.
Shared Lock blocks record from updating and will remain in queue waiting while record is accessed for reading.
If update process is going on then read command will have to wait until updating process finishes.

Update locks
This lock is used with the resources to be updated.

Exclusive locks
This kind of lock is used with data modification operations like update, insert or delete.

Download SQL Notification Services Interview Questions And Answers PDF

Previous QuestionNext Question
Define data, entity, domain and referential integrity?How does Notification Services Work?